Travel through Time in Spain: València

Alice
5 min readJul 29, 2021

Valencia is the oldest city in Spain with its history dating back to the Roman period. The city was under the ruling of the Moors in the middle age; thus, regarding various historic architectures, the city has lots to offer. The traditional dish, paella, is also originated from this city. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures before eating my paella in Valencia because my friends and I were too hungry at that time. We finished our paella in a blink of an eye that even ourselves were shocked at our speed of eating. It was the tastiest paella I have ever had in my life! Same with Barcelona, I believe that Valencia is worth many visits, as there are simply too many things to see. I can only share what I have visited during my trip here.

Our first stop was the Valencia central market (Mercat Central). It is a 8000 qm2 market built in the 20th century with Valencian Art Nouveau style. The market is very spacious and offers all kinds of seafood, fruits and vegetables, to name but a few.

Near the central market is the Silk Exchange (La Lonja de la Seda). It is listed as a UNESCO world heritage site in 1996 for its Valencian-Gothic building style. This building was originally built in the…

--

--

Alice

This is a blog about Alice’s exciting life around the world. Mandarin https://tinyurl.com/yckry86v |Coffee https://tinyurl.com/2p94zurn |IG: abenteuer_von_alice