Studying Abroad: Germany vs Canada

Alice
6 min readMar 27, 2021

Which countries should I choose if I want to pursue my studies abroad? As I have experience doing my masters in business in both countries, I will do a little comparison.

Teaching Approach

While Canadian universities focus more on class interaction such as business case discussion in class, German universities have a stronger focus on getting the theories right. Therefore, to be successful in Canadian universities, one has to try to engage more. Often times I observe Asian students being more victim to this kind of education system because in Asia students tend to ask questions in private. However, it is a completely different approach to ace in German universities. First, it is crucial to point out that in Germany, most universities will only hold one final examination at the end of each semester, meaning all the materials throughout the semester is examined all at once. Thus, before final exams, it is common to see people queuing up for a spot in the library before it is even open. What comes after? Students start running as if they were shopping on Black Fridays!

Daily Bureaucracy

--

--

Alice

This is a blog about Alice’s exciting life around the world. Mandarin https://tinyurl.com/yckry86v |Coffee https://tinyurl.com/2p94zurn |IG: abenteuer_von_alice