Love for Buddha? Hong Kong’s Nature and Islands- Part 4

Alice
5 min readFeb 15, 2022

Thank you everyone for helping me reach 100 subscribers! May the blessing of Buddha be with you and your loved ones. On this special day, I want to share my favorite Buddha in Hong Kong and use this article to end my last update on Hong Kong and move on to write about other places.

Lantau Island (大嶼山) is located on the south west of Hong Kong and is the biggest island in Hong Kong. In earlier times, due to lack of transportation construction, Lantau Island was quite underdeveloped. Until now, thanks to the establishment of airport and Disneyland, the island has gained its popularity among tourists. If there is one thing I regret a bit at Lantau Island was that my friend and I didn’t hike all the way up to where the Big Buddha (天壇大佛) is, thus I missed out on the forest that has many woods with Buddhist scriptures carved on them (心經簡林), instead we took gondola to reach the peak. However, I was super impressed by this gondola journey. It has to be the longest ride I have ever experienced, the whole ride took around half an hour!

We started our trip from MTR Tung Chung Station (東涌站), where you can see some iconic skyscrapers and mountains of Hong Kong (photo 1–2). From there, we walked to the gondola station and got our tickets (photo 3).

--

--

Alice

This is a blog about Alice’s exciting life around the world. Mandarin https://tinyurl.com/yckry86v |Coffee https://tinyurl.com/2p94zurn |IG: abenteuer_von_alice