Lamma Island without Llamas

Alice
5 min readDec 10, 2021

Lamma Island (南丫島) is located on the southwest of Hong Kong Island. Both the English and Mandarin name of this island have interesting origins. The name “Lamma” was actually a mistake by a Scottish geographer reading a map marked in Portuguese stating the place as “Lama” (mud in Portuguese), and he thought it was the name of the island. Ever since the island had been called “Lama”. Nevertheless, again Lama was wrote incorrectly to become “Lamma” we know today. Although I find the name Lamma quite cute and is close to llama that some part of me hope there are llamas on that island, unfortunately it is a no. As for the Mandarin name, people just simply called the island 丫 due to the shape of the island. Therefore, it is also called Y island as well in English by some.

There are two ports that can take people to Lamma Island, one is on the north side, Yung Shue Wan (榕樹灣), and the other is on the south, Sok Kwu Wan (索罟灣). This time, I traveled from the Yung Shue Wan port on the north. Once I got off the boat, I immediately saw a very beautiful library, North Lamma Public Library (南丫島北段公共圖書館及南丫島歷史文物室)(photo 2) with an old poem on it talking about the benefit of reading. Moreover, I went on the election day, so there are many election posters (photo 3 right) from candidates all over the place lolll. I also saw locals lining up for voting. I consider myself very lucky to have a chance to witness it…

--

--

Alice

This is a blog about Alice’s exciting life around the world. Mandarin https://tinyurl.com/yckry86v |Coffee https://tinyurl.com/2p94zurn |IG: abenteuer_von_alice